Windsor Ranch: A Stunning Turn-of-the-Century Home

Windsor Ranch is a stunning turn of the century citrus estate with a nearly 4,000 square foot main home boasting 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 3 fireplaces, office, third level attic space with atrium, skylight, 10 foot ceilings & potential for an additional 600 square foot room with 360 degree views of the surrounding citrus orchards. Tastefully updated guest cottage just beyond the pool with 2 bedrooms, plus an office, & 1 bathroom originally built in 1927. Additional guest house measuring 1142 square feet can be found beyond the gardens to the east of the main home with a separate gated driveway from the road (previously used for storage) ready to be restored as a 2 bedroom, 1 bath home. 15+/- acres, main home, pool, guest house, third structure with potential to be additional home, detached 3 car+ garage/workshop…most importantly 22 shares of Gage Canal (discounted agricultural water). Multiple utility meters, multiple physical addresses, potential to utilize the Mills Act (40%-60% discount on property taxes). Truly one of a kind estate with unlimited potential. The same family has lovingly cared for this jewel of Riverside since 1935.

“Far back from a quiet stretch of Dufferin Avenue is an English-style house built in 1901 as headquarters for the Arlington Heights Fruit Company, owned by the Riverside Trust Company, Ltd. It is one of five structures built by contractor J.W. Carroll at Windsor Ranch. The company required a large workforce to care for the vast acreage it managed for absentee English owners. The main house was used as offices and as a residence for the manager, while other buildings housed workers & equipment. The main brick & wood building was built several feet off the ground to resemble an English Colonial-plantation house. Its composition-shingled roof extended over a veranda encircling the one-story portion of the house. Only one corner rose two floors high. Double front doors facing west, opened into a large central room. with a massive granite fireplace and a raised oval hearth. This long center room extended the width of the building. Along the side walls were rows of doors opening into small offices. Although this room had no windows, angled skylights, built high in the ceiling, allowed sunlight to stream into the middle of the house. Charles E. Maud was the first resident manager at Windsor Ranch and sometimes the house was called the Maud house. After Maud left Riverside in 1902, other managers improved the house and grounds.”

LISTING & MORE INFORMATION

Listed by James Monks
Windermere Tower Properties

©2023 Old Riverside Foundation

A 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization